|Hill record:||42.1 m (138 ft) (Art Daggett )|
|Year of construction:||1919|
|Ski club:||Hoofers Club|
In 1919 the University of Wisconsin at Madison Athletic Director Tom Jones helped a group of students construct a wooden ski jumping hill atop “Muir Knoll”. The jump’s outrun lead onto Lake Mendota, but included a very steep drop which caused many jumpers to fall. The sport gradually gained popularity among students, but the jump's deteriorating condition necessitated its removal in 1931. The wooden planks from the first jump somehow made their way to a homecoming bonfire in 1930.
The newly-formed Hoofers Club promptly launched a campaign to replace the old jump with a permanent steel structure. Students volunteered their labor to regrade and improve the hill. The Memorial Union Board and the Class of 1932 between them contributed $1,000; and the Hoofers raised the balance through various money-raising projects and solicitations. The result was a professional ski jump 17 meters high and 33 meters long that was dedicated before 4,000 spectators in an impressive ceremony on February 11, 1933, followed by a competition between 50 of the best ski jumpers in the middle west.
The Muir Knoll ski jump thereafter became an iconic symbol of the campus, much used by student jumpers and for hosting regional ski meets in the winter and, importantly, as a popular lake-viewing and nocturnal trysting spot throughout the year.
In World War II soldier used the hill for maneuver and in 1957 it was finally destructed, but the inrun tower re-used in nearby Hoyt Park.