Recent news:

Fire destroys ski jumps in Biberau-Biberschlag

Copper Peak: Funding of the renovation finally secured

200 ski jumping facilities in the USA

The Ski Jumping Hill Archive reaches 3000 ski jumping sites!

New junior hills being developed in China


Send us your ski jumping hill photos and information via email!

Latest updates:




ITABormio   NEW!

SLORazvanje   NEW!

ITAPonte di Legno   NEW!

POL-ROdrzykoń   NEW!


CZE-LVratislavice nad Nisou
















Peter Riedel Sports Technology

Skispringen-Community Forum




Data | History | Hill records | Competitions | Contact | Map | Photo gallery | Articles | Comments



Hill Size: HS 117
K-Point: 105 m
Men Longest jump: 123.5 m (Joacim Ødegård Bjøreng NOR, 2016-02-27, COC)
Men Winter Hill record: 123.5 m (Seou Choi KOR, 2005-02-12, COC)
Ladies Longest jump: 119.0 m (Sophie Sorschag AUT, 2022-02-12, COC)
Ladies Winter Hill record: 118.0 m (Daniela Iraschko-Stolz AUT, 2011-02-05, COC)
Total height: 118.6 m
Inrun length: 83.1 m
Inrun angle: 37°
Take-off length: 6.2 m
Take-off angle: 10.5°
Take-off height: 2.63 m
Speed: 90 km/h
Landing angle: 34.4°
Hill certificate: Hill certificate
Conversions: 2005
Coordinates: 50.816787, 10.445280 Google Maps OpenStreetMap
K105 (2005-...)K98 (1978-2004)K90 (1969-1978)K80 (1955-1968)K60 (1930-1954)K40 (1924-1930)K40 (1922-1924)

Further jumps: no
Plastic matting: no
Year of construction: 1922
Conversions: 1924, 1930, 1954/55, 1968/69, 1978, 2003/2004
Status: operating
Ski club: WSV Brotterode
Coordinates: 50.816787, 10.445280 Google Maps OpenStreetMap

to top


Already on the day of the founding of WSV on February 14, 1905 two Norwegians showed jumps of 12 to 18 m on a provisory ski jumping hill at the fairy place at Seimberg.
The WSV Brotterode built the first jumping hill in 1920-1923. This “Hagenschanze” was named after a local politician in the state council who supported the construction financially. The jumps were about 45 m long and in 1929-30 the facility was enlarged into a 60 meter ski jump. After the political changing in 1945 the jump was renamed into “Aufbau-Schanze”. Since Brotterode had developing into a centre of ski jumping in Thuriniga, the jump was reconstructed again in 1954/55 and it was opened in 1956 with another changing of the name into “Inselbergschanze” (KP 80).
The ski jump hosted many national and international competitions in the following years and new hill records were set up again and again. Many very good ski jumpers came out of the ski club ASK Vorwärts Brotterode which was famous during GDR times. Later the ski jump was converted in 1968 and 1978, too. The last profile changing was done in 2003/2004 into a K105, whereby also jumps on over 120 m were made possible. On December 10, 1995 the very first FIS Continental Cup competition was hosted on Inselbergschanze and since Brotterode has been host of Continental Cup every year.
Since 2009 the ski jumps of Brotterode are altogether called "Werner Lesser II Skisprung Arena", in order to honor the legendary ski jumper from Brotterode. The original hill certificated terminated by the end of the year 2015 so that this year's edition was proclaimed as the farewell edition. Other than imagined before, two temporary hill certificates have been issued. The near future of the COC is nevertheless uncertain due to the fact that the FIS is asking for a wider inrun tower with an extra access for the jumpers.

to top

Hill records K105 (Men):

to top

Hill records K105 (Ladies):

to top


to top


to top


to top

Photo gallery:

to top



to top


Post comment:

bold | italics | underline | link

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

- Page: 1 2 -
11)   Eberhard Jurgalski   wrote on 2022-02-12 at 18:28:


"akk" ersetzen mit "sollte"

10)   Eberhard Jurgalski   wrote on 2022-02-12 at 18:27:


Ich weiss, die 119 m von Sophie Sorschag waren nicht gestanden. Aber als weitester Sprung in rot akk sie doch notiert werden, oder? Liebe Grüsse

9)   Bocde   wrote on 2021-02-22 at 08:29:

Joachim Oedegaard Bjoereng

Joachim Oedegaard Bjoereng fasst mit den Händen in den Schnee das wird als Sturz gewertet

8)   Artur   wrote on 2016-02-28 at 23:16:

Joachim Oedegaard Bjoereng 123,5 m

100% Fall.

7)   Tom   wrote on 2016-02-28 at 09:07:

Es waren sich nicht alle Kampfrichter einig, wie der Sprung gewertet werden soll. Aber ich hab mitbekommen, dass der Norweger nicht als gestürzt gewertet wird, siehe 13.5 und 16.0. Wenn es dennoch so sein soll, okay.

6)   Artur   wrote on 2016-02-28 at 00:32:


12.0 13.5 11.5 16.0 12.5

5)   Marco   wrote on 2016-02-27 at 19:31:

Joachim Oedegaard Bjoereng egalisiert den Rekord des Koreaners Seou Choi. Er sprang 123,5 m. Der Sprung gilt als nicht gestürzt

4)   Marvin   wrote on 2011-04-21 at 20:26:


Bei "Weitereschanzen" stehen die Umbauzeiten!!!

3)   Artur   wrote on 2011-02-04 at 13:59:

Ladie's hill record

Ladie's hill record: 112,0 m (Daniela Iraschko AUT, 2011-02-04, LCOC)

2)   Alex   wrote on 2011-01-25 at 19:27:

Einfach einer der schönsten gelegenen schanzen der welt! und am 6 februar ist conticup springen der herren und die damen sind auch dabei! Das wird ein Fest lg aus Brotterode

- Page: 1 2 -

to top

Social Bookmarks

Copyright © Ski Jumping Hill Archive 2002-2022